Advertise on TLR

Get your book in front of TLR’s readers with TLR advertising.

This page was updated on 26 August 2020

Advertising vs Getting Reviewed

Advertising is an entirely different process to getting reviewed. We do not and will never charge for reviews. To submit a book for review see our guide here.

Why advertise

Our team is simply not able to review all the amazing books being released and we have had several requests from authors and publishers like you on how you can more proactively access our substantial community of avid LesFic readers and buyers.

To help you do this we offer advertising options in the form of display advertising and New Release posts. 

Display Advertising

These are adverts that appear along the side of our reviews and home page.

Please note: Premium A and B are sold out for 2020. We do still have standard adverts available.

An illustration of where standard adverts are displayed can be seen below

 

This is where Standard Adverts are shown. They continue down the page

New Releases

These are book information listings. Each has its own page and the cover and title appear on the home page of the website in a list format.

Each new release gets its own page with the following information:

  • The Cover (please attach to the email you send us)
  • Title:
  • Author:
  • Release date:
  • Publisher:
  • Audiobook Publisher:
  • Genre and Tropes: (include as many as you have in your book, it helps readers discover exactly what your book is about have something like this: Contemporary Romance, Age Gap, Ice Queen, Medical, Rancher)
  • Series:
  • Audiobook narrated by:
  • Synopsis: What you used on Amazon is totally fine
  • Any other marketing text or images you want us to include
  • A tag line: One line that sums up your book. This goes onto the image on the home page and aims to get people to click on your book.
  • Your Twitter Handle: and any other relevant twitter handles like publishers, narrators, authors – we use this to tag you in our tweets about the new release

Look at the New Releases here

To note about a New Release listing

  • You can only add your new release for one cycle.
  • A new release needs to have been released within the last three months.
  • Publishers – contact us about our Publisher specials for bulk listings.
  • New box sets, audiobooks and second editions count as new releases provided they are released within three months of the advertising cycle.
  • To qualify as lesfic the book/audiobook/series needs to have a lesbian main character or bisexual woman main character (who ends up with a woman.) Our audience is a lesfic audience.

Below you can see an example of where New Releases are displayed on the home page

 

 

An illustration of where New Releases are displayed

Advertising Dates for 2020

Our advertising spots run for 4-week blocks

Ad blocks

9 Feb – 7 Mar 2020

8 Mar – 4 Apr 2020

5 Apr – 2 May 2020

3 May – 30 May 2020

31 May – 27 Jun 2020

28 Jun – 25 Jul 2020

26 Jul – 22 Aug 2020

23 Aug – 19 Sep 2020

20 Sep – 17 Oct 2020

18 Oct – 14 Nov 2020

15 Nov – 12 Dec 2020

13 Dec 2020 – 9 Jan 2021

Let’s do something amazing together

Book your spot now or enquire by emailing us on ads@nullthelesbianreview.com

Let us know

  • Which spot you are interested in
  • Which dates you want to advertise for
  • For new releases please copy and paste the info for the list above and fill it in

Tamara will get back to you

 

Frequently Asked Questions For Advertising on TLR

General

If I advertise will I get a review?

No. TLR is committed to only publishing non-biased reviews. To uphold this we do not do paid for reviews or guarantee reviews to anyone. This ensures our reviewers are not pressured to give good reviews to books that they don’t enjoy. It’s important for us that nothing affects the integrity of our reviews and so the folks who handle the adverts and the ones who handle the reviews are entirely separated. Not even the admin for them is done by the same people.

How do I get hold of you if I have more questions or want to book an advert or new release?

The best way is to email us on ads@nullthelesbianreview.com

Please be clear on the reason for your email so that we can get back to you as efficiently as possible.

How long will my ad or new release run for?

We work on cycles of four weeks. Ads and new releases for a cycle go live at midnight (South African time) on the first Sunday of the ad cycle and stop showing a minute before midnight (South African time) on the last Saturday of the cycle.

What is a cycle?

An advertising cycle is a four-week period. Ads and new releases for a cycle go live at midnight (South African time) on the first Sunday of the ad cycle and stop showing a minute before midnight (South African time) on the last Sunday of the cycle.

Why does TLR work on cycles and not months?

Four-week cycles are consistent, easier to manage and give every advertiser the same amount of exposure. It also means that all our data and statistics can be measured against one another.

Does TLR sell ad space in the newsletter?

Currently we do not. Keep tabs on this page, though. We may do so in the future.

Do we get statistics from our adverts or new releases?

New Release Posts: We can measure page views but we cannot accurately measure clicks as these are not adverts.

Premium and Standard Display Ads: We can give you the data from your display advert if you request it before the ad goes live. This allows us to track it accurately and send you the data when it stops showing.

New Releases

If I buy multiple new release spots can I get a discount?

We do provide special offers for folks who advertise regularly. Contact us on ads@nullthelesbianreview.com and tell us how many new releases you want to have in the next year and we will get back to you with rates.

Can I link my new release listing to a page that is not Amazon?

Absolutely, just let us know where and send us a link and any artwork you want to use for that link.

What is a tag line and why do I need it for my new release listing?

A tag line text that we use on the image which appears on the home page of TLR. It’s the text that will get readers to click onto your new release listing.

Can I advertise my new release for more than one cycle?

Unfortunately we don’t allow new release listings more than once. After the first cycle it no longer becomes a new release.

How old can a release be in order to be considered a new release?

We consider it a new release for the first three months after a book is released for sale. So you can advertise your new release any time during that period

Display Adverts

Do you design the adverts for me?

At this point we don’t.

How can I advertise my book that was published more than three months ago?

We have display adverts that we do not limit to newly published works.

Can I link my display to a page that is not Amazon?

Absolutely, just let us know where and send us a link.

Can I advertise services like editing, cover design or my publishing house using display adverts?

Absolutely. We do not limit our adverts to books only. As long as the advert is not inappropriate we are happy to run it.

If I buy multiple ad spots can I get a discount?

We do provide special offers for folks who advertise regularly. Contact us on ads@nullthelesbianreview.com and tell us how many adverts you want to have in the next year and we will get back to you with rates.